My Army – The Expansion Continues

Today’s blog entry is all about the expansion of my army, however, that will come on a second post today, as I also have some more thoughtful rubbish to plaster on the internet.

I have told a white lie of sorts in my early posts, the Ultramarines were not my first foray back into the world of Games Workshop.
That was a Leman Russ battle tank, that I was going to use to start a Death Korp of Kreig army.
I had bought the Imperial Armour Modelling Masterclass books and did (I thought) an admirable job on the painting and weathering. However, something wasn’t “attracting” me to collecting the army like I thought it would.

I’ve seen people playing with just an undercoated army that they have built using an internet list of death.
They have no care for their army other than the fact that it is good at winning games.
My view is, that you should enjoy the army you collect as well as be inspired to paint it to a reasonable standard.
Sympathise with it’s quirks, immerse yourself in its background, and relish in the losses.
If you dont enjoy painting the models, or find it tedious, then perhaps it’s time to re-think your choices.

Another good way to form a bond with your chosen army is to write backgrounds for your charachters or name your squads.

I started doing this by looking up a list of all known Ultramarines, and where one was featured but didn’t have a first name….I made one up!
Google is your best friend, and a quick search of Roman and Greek names quickly had all of my Sergeants and Charachters (Even the Dreadnoughts) named correctly to published lore.

Im still working on the background, but Tactical Squad III lead by Sergeant Tiberius Ixion has saved the day more times that I know.

Im not saying that having a tournament winning army is a bad thing, but this is a multi-facetted hobby, and we should try and embrace all aspects of collecting, modelling, painting and gaming…..but most impotantly have fun doing it.

That is all for now, I’ll post some more army progression pictures up soon.

Until next time. Guy.

Leave a comment